LTD Buses

I went to see a movie last weekend. I looked up the best way to get there, but unfortunately, the best bus to take, is actually being discontinued and is currently not running on the weekends. Bummer. So I walked the 20 minutes to the theater to go see The A-Team. Hey, it was silly and fun, and I quite enjoyed it 😉

So I left the theater and thought I would try to catch a bus back. I was standing at a bus stop for the M16 and the M9. When I looked up the route on my handy-dandy iPhone, it showed it runs down 1st Avenue, so I figured I could at least take it down to 14th Street.

SIDE NOTE: I live in the grid area in Stuyvesant Town, so streets run east-west and are numbered 1 and up going north. Avenues run north-south. On the east side (where I am) the start at Avenue C, Avenue B, Avenue A, 1st Ave, 2nd Ave, 3rd Ave, etc. I live at Avenue C & 14th Street.

As I’m standing at the stop, more and more people stop to stand as well. Soon a bus comes and I notice that it doesn’t quite pull up to where are the people are standing. It stops about 20 feet away, let’s someone out, then continues on its way. I am very confused. Why didn’t the bus stop? What’s more is that no one seemed to care. I did not understand and was very annoyed. After all, the bus wasn’t even close to being full.

So I walk to another bus stop for a different bus line, the M15. The time the bus wasn’t let anyone off and just went by. Ok, not I’m really annoyed. There were a couple of people who apparently in the same boat as me and were confused as well. I walk to yet another bus stop, and this time the bus has actually stopped and is letting people on. I get on the bus and notice that it skips stops.

There is another type of bus called the Express and is indicated by an X for the line, but these were not these buses because they took regular fare, and an Express bus is $5.

I get out at the stop and put it out of my mind.

Friday, I needed to take a bus back home from the same theater, but when I was looking at the maps at the bus stop this time, I noticed that there was an alternate line labeled, LTD. Suddenly I got a flash of an LTD on the bus from the week before. There is apparently a line of buses that skip certain stops to save time. So kinda like an Express line on the train. Ah ha!

At least I know I’m not crazy.

Leave a Reply

